“A Hand Reaches” by Alex Brown

A Hand Reaches Title Cover

04:30-04:32AM

At the Brooklyn Bridge. Philip stands on the edge, looking down.

Philip

Sighs How did I get here to begin with? He recollects his memory, as the opposing side of the stage shows his mind. I was as happy as a child could be. I must’ve thought I was invincible. A visual of him as a 4 year old running through a park shows. Philip laughs. I don’t get how things just… changed so quickly. A visual shows of the funeral procession. 16… My grandfather died. The visual is now of a couple arguing 18… My parents finalized their divorce. The visual is completely black 24… just as I was beginning to get happy, too… I lost the one person who was keeping me sane. I’m only 24 years old, and I feel like I lost everything. I’ve… I’ve been abandoned. There just isn’t any hope left. He begins to lean over, but hesitates. He then looks into the ocean, and sighs I hope this is as painless as possible.

He takes a deep breathe, mutters a few word under his breath, and then closes his eyes as he begins to lean over. As he’s about to fall, someone grabs his arm

???

Don’t do this!

04:32-04:35AM

Philip and the stranger are struggling. Phil is hoping he lets go soon, but the old man is quite durable.

Philip

Hey! Let go of me!

???

No, absolutely not!

Philip

You can’t save me now! Nobody can!

???

Young man, you have so much to live for!

Philip

You don’t know me! You don’t know all the pain I’ve been through for the last 14 years! I can’t keep holding on, not for this long!

???

You are being stubborn. I don’t know what you’ve been through for your life. However, I know that you are stronger than whatever you are fighting with!

Philip

Beginning to tear up Shut up! Just let me leave this world! Let me die!

???

No! I was once in your position. I lost friends when they were in your position. I will not allow such an awful death to happen. Not when I can stop it!

Phil stops struggling. The stranger pulls the boy up, and hugs him. Phil starts to cry.

???

There there, my boy. You are okay. He continues to comfort Phil My name is Anthony, and I am here to help you through this. Now, tell me… tell me everything. Tell me what brought you to this point.

04:42-04:49AM

In the six minutes that have passed, Phil tells Anthony about his entire life story. His childhood, his family, his relationships, his career, and all the tragedies that occurred during this time frame. Anthony listens very intently.

Philip

I’m just at a point where I feel like nobody could care anymore. I haven’t felt much emotion at all in the last few days. No matter how well I slept, I feel super tired all the time. I just couldn’t care anymore. That’s why I was about to jump. That’s why I wanted to end it all. I’m sick of this world. I’m sick of living a life where everyday, I had to justify a reason to keep living.

Anthony is silent for a moment, thinking of what to say.

Anthony

I’m very sorry for everything that has happened to you. I know that feeling of hopelessness all too well. I was born to parents that never cared about me.

Philip

What? But aren’t you supposed to be like the greatest gift they could receive?

Anthony

Chuckles I see why you would think that. Even through your hardships, your parents love you and have much pride in what you’ve accomplished, it seems. However, mine just saw me as a burden. They were people who always wanted to… fuck around, for the lack of a better word. Drinking, smoking, doing drugs… you name it, and they would do it. They never got married… they weren’t even really in a relationship. They didn’t love each other. They just wanted to collect child support money and use it to amp up their lifestyle. I give my mom a little more credit, because she did sober up for me to be born, but after that she was just always super disappointed in the person I was. My father, though… he always hated me. He would abuse me when I was younger, and then when I got old enough to fend for myself, he would actually try killing me in some instances.

Philip

In complete shock I… I never knew there were parents that could treat their children like… like animals.

Anthony

It’s been really rough. You know something is wrong when you don’t know how to feel when your parents die… He chokes up For most of my teenage years, I’ve felt like stone. I felt like I was born into a world I didn’t belong in. In fact… I know I don’t belong. I was a mistake. I should have never existed… but I do exist. Even though I don’t understand why, I exist, and that’s more than enough to keep me living. I know that the only way anything in my life is going to get better is if I keep on fighting what I have been fighting with all of my life. Some of the wounds never heal over. They’ll scab up. You will never be able to get rid of those, and if you try, you will only open them again. That doesn’t mean you can’t live with it, though! The beauty of humans is that we have a force behind us that will keep us striving for a better tomorrow. When I was your age, I never thought I’d make it to 50 without dying in the process, yet here I am… living each day with a hope in my heart that is burning like no other light. Some days are still bleak and I question my existence, of course. But then there’s the other days… the days when I realize how truly beautiful life is. He’s silent for a moment before turning to Philip Phil, you have so much to live for. So much to see in your life. I understand how you feel, that it just doesn’t look that way at all and all you can see is the darkness in front of you but take it from me… someone who first saw the light when he was your age… it gets better. Don’t leave this world yet. You’re an important person. You just need to find your strength right now.

There’s a silence. Philip and Anthony both look into the sky.

04:50-05:00AM

The two men are walking towards Brooklyn on the Bridge

Anthony

May I ask you something, Phil?

Philip

Of course.

Anthony

I saw you hesitate before you went for the fall… was there anything… rather, anyone you were thinking of?

Phil is silent for a moment

Philip

Yes, I was thinking of someone.

Anthony

Is there any reason you went to jump anyway, knowing you’d leave this person behind?

Philip

I… I don’t think they really care about who I am, anymore.

Anthony gives a very curious look

Anthony

Hm, you seemed to gloss over that when you were talking about your life. Who are they?

Philip

I don’t really want to give too much information, because I don’t really understand the situation myself, but… there’s a person that helped me through a lot of my troubles during the last year. They made me incredibly happy in many ways. But…

Philip gets very silent

Anthony

Yes?

Philip

I was selfish and stupid. I ruined my connection with them. I can’t blame them for not wanting to be associated with me anymore. I was a complete asshole to them in the end.

Anthony

Well, Phil… some fires may not be meant to burn, but perhaps you should try fixing things with the person.

Philip

I’ve tried. I feel like I only made things worse, though.

Anthony laughs a bit. Phil looks at him, confused

Anthony

Oh, Phil my boy… When was the last time you’ve had contact with this person?

Philip

About a month ago.

Anthony

That’s far too little of time to judge, then! Believe me when I say that all the answers you are looking for will come to you at the end. Everyone has their own pace in accepting forgiveness and moving on. There’s no reason to give up on hope just yet.

Philip

Laughing a bit Yeah, I guess you’re right.

They reach the end of the Bridge. Anthony is about to say his goodbyes, but Philip just goes to hug them very tightly.

Philip

Anthony… Thank you. If you weren’t here, I would be dead by now without any true peace in my life. Without even knowing who I was before this, you saved me. You are a true angel, in every sense of the word.

Anthony

Smiling, with watery eyes Phil… I’m very glad I was there at that moment, too. You have a lot to learn… and you also have a lot to live for. Believe me when I say… you serve a purpose. I don’t know if we’ll ever meet again… but please remember what I told you tonight. Through your darkest of nights, the sun is beginning to rise… He chuckles quite literally.

The sun is shown rising. The two men look at it before walking their separate ways.

End.

 

Leave a Reply

